Administrative Structure

The Administrative machinery of the Assembly comprises of the Central Administration which consists of the General Administration, the Municipal Planning and Budgeting Coordinating Unit (MPCU), the Finance Office, the Works Department, the Environmental Health Unit, the Statistical Service, the Information Service and the Internal Audit Unit.

Local Government Service departments, agencies and sub-vented organizations exist in the Municipality with staff an adequate strength. Following the enactment of LI 1961, 2009, the Municipality is supposed to have 13 decentralized departments but currently there exist 12 departments that are listed in paragraph 2.2.7 of the said LI.

The Municipality’s Political and Administrative authority is handled by the Municipal Chief Executive (M.C.E), whiles the Municipal Coordinating Director (M.C.D) takes up the role as Head of bureaucracy in the Municipality…

Core Functions

The functions of the Municipal Assembly, like all other MMDAs, basically derived from the Legislative Instruments as mandated by the Local Government Act 462 of 1993, Local Government Service Act 656 of 2003 and Legislative Instrument 1961 of 2009

The Assembly exercises political and administrative authority, provide guidance, give direction to, and supervise all other administrative authorities in the Municipality. In addition, the Assembly exercises deliberative, legislative and executive functions as outlined in the Act 462.

These functions which are broadly aimed at attaining its vision and fulfilling its mission of improving the quality of life of its people are to:

  • Be responsible for the overall development of the Municipality and ensure the preparation and submission of development plans and budget to the relevant Central Government Agency/Ministry through the Regional Co-ordinating Council (RCC).
  • Formulate and execute plans, programmes and strategies for the effective mobilization of the resources necessary for the overall development of the Municipality.
  • Promote and support productive activity and social development in the Municipality and remove any obstacles to initiative and development.
  • Initiate programmes for the development of basic infrastructure and provide Municipal works and services in the Municipality.
  • Be responsible for the development, improvement and management of human settlements and environment in the Municipality.
  • Co-operate with the appropriate national and local security agencies and be responsible for the maintenance of security and public safety in the Municipality.
  • Ensure ready access to courts and public tribunals in the Municipal, for the promotion of justice.
  • Guide, encourage and support sub-Municipal local government bodies, public agencies and local communities to perform their roles, in the execution of approved development plans.
  • Monitor the execution of projects under approved development plans, assess and evaluate their impact on the people’s development, the Municipal and National economy.
  • Initiate, sponsor or carry out such studies as may be necessary for the discharge of any of the functions conferred by Act 462 or any other enactment.
  • Perform such other functions as may be provided under any other enactment.

Assembly’s Structure

The Organogram of the Municipal Assembly is based on the Institutional Framework for District Assemblies (Act 462) by The LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT, 1993. The structure calls for a bottom-up approach to planning.

LGS Municipal Assembly Departmental Organogram

Institutional Framework for District Assemblies (Act 462)